Nic Dias quoted in the New York Times!

Wednesday, November 15, 2023

Joint ASC-PSCI Ph.D. student Nic Dias had his work and thoughts quoted in the November 15th edition of the New York Times by Tom Edsall in an opinion piece entitled "Overturning Roe Changed Everything. Overturning Affirmative Action Did Not."

Read the entire article and Nic's insightful… Read More

Prof. Rudy Sil Writes Short Essay for Penn Almanac

Wednesday, November 1, 2023

Penn Almanac just published a short essay penned by Professor Rudy Sil on teaching "Controversial Topics in the Classroom."  While focusing on how to teach a meaningful course on Russian Politics, the essay also provides insightful advice on how to approach any sensitive topic, all the more… Read More

New Publication

Monday, October 16, 2023

Matt Levendusky has published an opinion piece in the New York Times: "Trump Is Excited About These Three Things" in which he notes that the 2024 Presidential elections "will look much like 2020 and 2016."

Read the full article… Read More

Daniel M. Smith wins Lawrence Longley Award

Monday, October 9, 2023

Professor Daniel M. Smith won the 2023 Lawrence Longley Award for his recent research (co-authored with Shusei Eshima), “Just a Number? Voter Evaluations of Age in Candidate Choice Experiments,” published in The Journal of Politics (Read More

Brendan O'Leary wins PSAI Farrell Book Prize!

Thursday, October 5, 2023

O'Leary's book, Making Sense of a United Ireland, has been chosen as the winner of the PSAI Farrell Book Prize for 2023. Congratulations!

Ph.D. Candidate Mikhail Strokan featured in PennToday

Tuesday, August 22, 2023

Mikhail Strokan was featured in the August edition of PennToday in an article entitled "Resisting the resource curse". Read the full article here.


Congratulations to our Recent Graduates!

Tuesday, August 22, 2023

Congratulations to the fourteen Ph.D. candidates who successfully defended and deposited their theses last Academic Year. We wish them the best of luck in all their future endeavors!


Graduate Student Awards

Thursday, August 24, 2023

Many of our students have received prestigious awards, grants, and fellowships in the past year. Congratulations to you all!


Amber Mackey accepted a Pre-doctoral Fellowship at MIT for 2023-24.

Mikhail Strokan was awarded a SAS Dissertation Completion Fellowship (DCF)… Read More